If you have celiac disease or are extremely sensitive to gluten, you're probably wondering about the gluten status of oatmeal (Quaker oats specifically). As you may already know, oats are naturally gluten-free but can be cross-contaminated with gluten-containing grains, such as barley, rye and wheat, during processing.
Which Quaker Oats Products Are Labeled Gluten-Free?
Quaker oats products that are gluten-free are labeled as such. Not all Quaker products are clearly labeled as gluten-free, but those that are (according to Quaker oats website) include:
- Quaker gluten-free quick 1-minute oats
- Original Quaker gluten-free instant oats
- Maple and brown sugar Quaker gluten-free instant oats
- Quaker gluten-free large rice cakes
- Quaker gluten-free popped rice crisps
If it doesn't say gluten-free on Quaker's label, then the oats do not meet the legal standard for gluten-free labeling and may cause issues for people sensitive to gluten.
What Does Gluten-Free Mean?
Products containing the term "gluten-free" on the label are supposed to abide by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) gluten-free food labeling practices. The FDA says gluten-free foods must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten to be labeled as gluten free. This amount is so small that most people with celiac disease can tolerate such foods.
Choosing Gluten-Free Quaker Products
Choosing gluten-free Quaker oats products means the manufacturer says these foods meet FDA gluten-free labeling requirements. That is, the oats contain less than 20 ppm of gluten; a very small amount not expected to be problematic for most people with Celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. However, it's important to note you may not be getting a product that's entirely gluten-free when you choose Quaker oats products.